SANTA CRUZ COUNTY JUSTICE COURT, PRECINCT NO. 1
2160 N. CONGRESS, STE. 2100, NOGALES, AZ. 85621 (520)375-7762

PLAINTIFF

(Name/Address/Telephone):

CASE NO.

CIVIL SUMMONS
AND COMPLAINT

O Amended
O Replacement

DEFENDANT

(Name/Address/Telephone):

DATE:

SUMMONS

STATE OF ARIZONA TO THE ABOVE-NAMED DEFENDANT:

You are summoned to appear and answer this action in the Court named above by filing an Answer along
with the required answer fee within twenty (20) consecutive days, not counting the day of service. If the twentieth day
is a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the time runs until the end of the next day which is NOT a Saturday, Sunday
or legal holiday. (Refer to the Arizona Revised Statutes for time variations related to out-of-state service.)

Justice of the Peace

IF YOU FAIL TO FILE AN ANSWER, A JUDGMENT MAY BE ENTERED
AGAINST YOU AS REQUESTED IN THE PLAINTIFF'S COMPLAINT.

COMPLAINT

Plaintiff alleges that this Court has jurisdiction over this matter.
I AM SUING THE DEFENDANT BECAUSE:

Date:

THEREFORE, Plaintiff asks for Judgment against Defendant in the sum of $
rate from date of Judgment) until paid, plus all costs of this suit.

I state under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signature

, with interest (at the legal

O Plaintiff

O Attorney for Plaintiff

JP1201, Revised 2/15/12

Original + 2 copies




CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

DATE RECEIVED: DATE SERVED TIME SERVED

PERSON SERVED:

LOCATION WHERE SERVED:

HOW SERVED:

PRECINCT, COUNTY

I certify that I personally served this document and a copy of the Complaint in this action as stated
above.

CONSTABLE/PROCESS SERVER
STATEMENT OF COSTS

Service Fee $ Mileage Fee $ Other $

TOTAL §




SANTA CRUZ COUNTY JUSTICE COURT, PRECINCT NO. 1
2160 N. CONGRESS, STE. 2100, NOGALES, AZ. 85621 (520)375-7762
CIVIL SUMMONS AND COMPLAINT INSTRUCTIONS FOR PLAINTIFF

If you choose to represent yourself, you will act as your own attorney and
be responsible for all aspects of the case.

DO NOT REQUEST LEGAL ADVICE FROM THE CLERKS AT THE COURT
THESE INSTRUCTIONS ARE THE ONLY ASSISTANCE THE COURT CAN GIVE YOU

This information that has been prepared to help you complete the Civil Summons and Complaint form, pursue your
claim in the Court, and collect any monies awarded to you. Do not request legal advice from the clerks. The Court
furnishes the forms and information packet and the Clerks can instruct you in the procedures for filing your claim.

PRE-FILING INFORMATION:

1.

Before you file the Complaint, you may wish to research the Arizona Revised Statutes that apply to your situation. Research
materials are available at the University of Arizona Law Library, the Pima County Superior Court Law Library, and most
public libraries.

When you sue someone or some entity, you are the PLAINTIFF; the person or business being sued is the DEFENDANT.

If you are managing rental property for an owner and you are not an attorney, you may complete the paperwork, but the
owner must sign the papers and appear in court. You may not represent the owner unless you are an attorney.
Amount involved and where to file civil claims pursuant to A.R.S. §22-201.
a. $2500 or less excluding interest and costs, can file in Small Claims or Civil.
b.  $10,000 or less, excluding interest, costs and attorney fees, file in Justice Court.
c. $10,000, excluding interest, costs and attorney fees, file in Justice Court or Superior Court.
d. Evictions $10,000 or less excluding interest, costs and attorney fees, file in Justice Court or Superior Court.
You may not split a claim and file two separate actions. You may file for ‘court costs’ in addition to the
maximum. Court costs may include, but are not limited to, filing and service fees, and interest.

Before you file the Complaint, you must research any appropriate information necessary to proceed on the case inclusive of
the EXACT LEGAL NAME and address of the person or business you are suing. Many valuable public information
resources are available to you such as Consumer Affairs, City or County Business License Offices, State of Arizona
Corporation Commission, telephone books, City Directories, Information and Referral Services, County Recorders, and
County Assessors.

After the case is filed, you must inform the Court in writing of any address and telephone number changes.

If you are awarded a judgment as the result of an automobile accident, you may pursuant to A.R.S. §28-4072, after the
judgment remains unpaid for 60 days, file paperwork to notify the Motor Vehicle Division. This will result in the
Defendant’s Drivers License, registration, and nonresident operating privileges being suspended until the judgment is
paid in full. See: Collecting the Judgment, item #3 of this pamphlet for more information.

SOME TIPS FOR NAMING PARTIES:

L.

IF YOUR CLAIM IS AGAINST A MARRIED PERSON:

You should name and serve both spouses because ARIZONA is a community property state. If you only know the name of
one spouse the other may be referred to as "John Doe" Smith or "Jane Doe" Smith, h/w. See sample on attached instructions
entitled "How to Designate Defendant".

IF YOUR CLAIM IS AGAINST A CORPORATION:

The corporation must be listed as the Defendant on the Summons and Complaint. Then you must list the name and address of
an officer or the statutory agent of the corporation. The corporation is the actual Defendant and the officer or statutory agent is
the person who accepts service of the Summons on behalf of the Corporation. See sample on attached instructions entitled
"How to Designate Defendant". If you do not know this information, you may obtain it from either the corporation itself or by
calling the State of Arizona Corporation Commission at 628-6560, at 400 W. Congress, Tucson, 85701.



3. IF YOUR CLAIM IS AGAINST A BUSINESS WHICH IS NOT A CORPORATION:
Other types of businesses are sole proprietorships and partnerships. The City and County Business License Divisions can
help you with the named owners. These types of businesses are shown differently on the Complaint. See samples on
attached instructions entitled "How to Designate Defendant".

4. IF YOUR CLAIM IS AGAINST AN INSURANCE COMPANY:
When you sue an insurance company, the filing procedures are somewhat different. The State of Arizona Department of
Insurance requires you to complete two sets of Summons and Complaint forms, each exactly the same. VERY
IMPORTANT: Before you file your case, you must know specific information about the  insurance company you will be
suing and what the Department of Insurance's fee is. The State of Arizona Department of Insurance requires that you
contact them at either of the following addresses and phone numbers and they will give you the required information:

PHOENIX OFFICE: TUCSON OFFICE:
2910 N. 44th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85018-7269 400 W. Congress, #152, Tucson, AZ 85701
Phone: 602-364-2499 Phone: 520-628-6370

5. IF YOU ARE SUING YOUR LANDLORD:
You must sue the OWNERS of the property if known, and not the manager or the apartment complex.

6. IF YOU ARE SUING YOUR FORMER TENANT:
If you are managing property for an owner and if you are NOT an attorney, you may complete the forms, but THE
OWNER MUST SIGN THE PAPERS AND APPEAR IN COURT. You CANNOT represent the owner unless
you are an attorney.

7. IF YOU ARE SUING FOR DAMAGES RESULTING FROM A MOTOR VEHICLE ACCIDENT:
You may sue the person(s) owning the vehicle and/or the driver of the vehicle.

HOW TO FILE:

1. After completing the Summons and Complaint form included in this packet, YOU MUST FILE THE FORMS AT THE
CUSTOMER SERVICE COUNTER AND PAY THE FILING FEE ($65.00). A Filing Fee Chart is included in the packet. The
clerk will assign a case number and issue the Summons. The Clerk keeps the original Summons and Complaint for the Court's
file and gives you all of the other copies.

2. After your case is filed and the Summons issued, the Defendant must be served by having the Constable or a
Private Process Server, serve the Summons. Take your copies with you; a service fee will be required.

AFTER SERVICE:
1. THE TIMES LINES GIVEN TO THE DEFENDANT TO FILE AN ANSWER ARE:
a. If the Defendant was served in the State of Arizona, the defendant must file an answer within TWENTY (20) days
from the date of service.
b. If the Defendant was served OUTSIDE of the State of Arizona, the defendant must file an answer within THIRTY
(30) days from the date of service.

2. To check on your case, you may come to the Court's Customer Service Department. Please give the Clerk your case number
and indicate you wish to check on the status of your case. If you do not understand what your next step may be, the Clerk may
be able to help you. You may also contact the court at (520)375-7762.

3. If the Defendant does not file an Answer and pay the Answer Fee after the specified time period, you may file the documents
necessary for a Default Judgment to be entered in your case. This filing can be in the amount of your Complaint plus court
costs.

4. The Defendant may file a Counterclaim against you. If this happens, you have twenty days from the day you were served to
file an answer to the Counterclaim with the Court and send a copy to the Defendant. If you do not file an answer to the
Counterclaim, the Defendant may ask for a Default Judgment to be entered against you on the Counterclaim.

GOING TO TRIAL:

1. If the Defendant files an Answer and pays the appropriate fee, you will need to request a trial date. You must file a Motion to
Set and Certificate of Readiness with the Court before a Judge will schedule your case for trial.

2. Once a trial date has been set, you will receive a ‘Notice to Appear for Trial’ in the mail. Remember to keep the Court notified
of your correct mailing address and telephone number.



3. If your case is not settled before the trial date, be sure to appear on the right day and time. If you fail to appear, the trial may
proceed without you. When you appear for your trial, bring all witnesses and evidence necessary to establish and prove your
claim. You will not be able to provide additional information for consideration after the trial is held.

COLLECTING THE JUDGMENT:
1. Ask the Judgment Debtor to pay the amount of the Judgment.

2. Debtor’s Exam. This is a process, in which the Judge will advise the debtor to disclose the debtor's income, bank account,
assets, and provide supporting documentation.

3. If you are granted a Judgment on a case resulting from a motor vehicle accident, you have the option of notifying the Motor
Vehicle Division of the Judgment. If you choose this option, you must provide the Court with a police report, a certified
copy of the judgment, and a Notice of Non Satisfaction of Judgment. The Court will then notify MVD. Note: The
Judgment must remain unpaid for 60 days before you may pursue this option. (A.R.S. §28-4072)

4. A JUDGMENT COLLECTION handout is available at the Court's Information Center or on-line at the Court’s website. This
handout gives you different options to collect your Judgment. If the Judgment Debtor does not pay, you may file any of the
following actions at this Court:

a. Writ of Garnishment: If you file in person, the Clerk will give you the forms packet to complete.
b. A Writ of Execution: Pamphlets on Writs of Execution are available at the Information Center or on-line. If you file
in person, the Clerk will give you the forms packet to complete.
c. A Transcript of the Judgment: After this is filed with Superior Court and then Recorded at the Recorder’s
Office, the Judgment becomes a lien on any real property the Judgment Debtor has in the County where the
Judgment Transcript is recorded.

AFTER YOU COLLECT THE JUDGMENT:

After you are successful in collecting the judgment using any of the options mentioned above, you must sign and file a
Satisfaction of Judgment with the Justice Court. This form is available from the Front Counter Clerks. If your case has been
Transcribed and transferred to Superior Court, the Satisfaction of Judgment must be filed in the office of the Clerk of Superior
Court. If you have recorded your judgment in the Recorder's Office, you must also file a copy of the Satisfaction of Judgment in
their office as well.



SANTA CRUZ COUNTY JUSTICE COURT, PRECINCT NO. 1
2160 N. CONGRESS, STE. 2100, NOGALES, AZ. 85621 (520)375-7762

NOTICE TO PERSONS REPRESENTING THEMSELVES

IN LAWSUITS WITHOUT AN ATTORNEY

A person acting on his or her own behalf is, under the law, held to the same standards and duties as an attorney
admitted to the practice of law in the State of Arizona. You are expected to know what the law requires and how to
accomplish your purposes in accordance with applicable statutes and court rules.

No Court employee is obligated to tell you what you have to do, how you are to do it or what you should or should not
do under the circumstances. The law prohibits Judges, Commissioners, Clerks, and all Court personnel from giving
legal advice.

If you need legal advice, seek assistance from an attorney. If you do not have a lawyer and don't know a specific
lawyer to contact, you can be referred to counsel through:

Pima County Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service
177 N. Church Ave., Suite 101 - Tucson, Arizona 85701
Telephone: (520) 623-4625
http://www.pimacountybar.org/

Monday through Friday, 9:00 AM to 3:00 PM

You will be referred to a lawyer who will consult with you for one-half hour for a small fee. If you have no further
legal problem, the lawyer will tell you so. If further legal services are necessary, you may arrange for them directly
with the lawyer on a fee basis to be arranged between you and the lawyer.

If you do not have the funds necessary to hire counsel, you may seek assistance from the following:

Southern Arizona Legal Aid, Inc.
2343 East Broadway Blvd., Suite 200
Tucson, Arizona 85701

(520) 623-9465 / (800) 234-7252



SANTA CRUZ COUNTY JUSTICE COURT, PRECINCT NO. 1
2160 N. CONGRESS, STE. 2100, NOGALES, AZ. 85621 (520)375-7762

HOW TO DESIGNATE THE PARTIES ON YOUR COURT PAPERS]

When representing yourself in Court, you are acting as your own attorney and responsible for completing your own
forms. This handout shows examples of commonly used party designations used in civil litigation and how to display these
parties on your papers. Please choose and adopt the sample that best applies to your situation when naming the parties on
your papers.

INDIVIDUAL: PARENTS OF A MINOR:
JOHN SMITH JOHN AND MARY SMITH, h/w,
111 SSW. "Z" Street parents of JOSEPH SMITH, a minor
Nogales, AZ. 85621 111 SSW. "Z" Street
Phone: 555-1111 Nogales, AZ. 85621

Phone: 555-1111

HUSBAND AND WIFE:

JOHN AND MARY SMITH, h/w JOHN AND MARY SMITH, h/w
111 S.W. "Z" Street 111 S.W. "Z" Street
Nogales, AZ. 85621 Nogales, AZ. 85621
Phone: 555-1111 Phone: 555-1111

TWO OR MORE DEFENDANTS:

JOHN SMITH MARY JONES
111 S W."Z" Street 123 S.W. "Z" Street
Nogales, AZ. 85621 Nogales, AZ. 85621
Phone: 555-1111 Phone: 555-1234
CORPORATION: SOLE OWNERSHIP:
ABC CANDY STORE, INC. JOHN SMITH, dba SMITH'S CANDY SHOP
c/o John Smith, Statutory Agent 111 SW. "Z" Street
111 SW. "Z" Street Nogales, AZ 85621
Nogales, AZ 85621 Phone: 555-1111

Phone: 555-1111
PARTNERSHIP:

JOHN SMITH and JOE JONES, Partners JOHN SMITH and JOE JONES, Partners
dba XYZ CANDY SHOP dba XYZ CANDY SHOP
111 SW. "Z" Street 111 SW."Z" Street
Nogales, AZ. 85621 Nogales, AZ. 85621
Phone: 555-1111 Phone: 555-1111

PARTNERSHIP AND SERVICE ON PARTNERS AS INDIVIDUALS:

JOHN SMITH and JOE JONES, Partners
dba XYZ CANDY SHOP
111 SW."Z" Street
Nogales, AZ. 85621
Phone: 555-1111



Notice to the Defendant: A lawsuit has been filed against you in justice court!
You have rights and responsibilities in this lawsuit. Read this notice carefully.

1. In a justice court lawsuit, individuals have a right to represent themselves, or they may hire an
attorney to represent them. A family member or a friend may not represent someone in justice court
unless the family member or friend is an attorney. A corporation has a right to be represented by an
officer of the corporation, and a limited liability company (“LLC”) may be represented by a managing
member. A corporation or an LLC may also be represented by an attorney.

If you represent yourself, you have the responsibility to properly complete your court papers and to file
them when they are due. The clerks and staff at the court are not allowed to give you legal advice. If you
would like legal advice, you may ask the court for the name and phone number of a local lawyer referral
service, the local bar association, or a legal aid organization.

2. You have a responsibility to follow the Justice Court Rules of Civil Procedure (“JCRCP”) that apply
in your lawsuit. The rules are available in many public libraries, at the courthouse, and online at the Court
Rules page of the Arizona Judicial Branch website, at http://www.azcourts.gov/ , under the “AZ Supreme
Court” tab.

3. A “plaintiff” is someone who files a lawsuit against a “defendant.” You must file an answer or other
response to the plaintiff’s complaint in writing and within twenty (20) days from the date you were
served with the summons and complaint (or thirty (30) days if you were served out-of-state.) If you do not
file an answer within this time, the plaintiff may ask the court to enter a “default” and a “default
judgment” against you. Your answer must state your defenses to the lawsuit. Answer forms are available
at the courthouse, and on the Self-Service Center of the Arizona Judicial Branch website at
http://www.azcourts.gov/ under the “Public Services” tab. You may prepare your answer electronically
at http://'www.azturbocourt.gov/ ; this requires payment of an additional fee. You may also prepare your
answer on a plain sheet of paper, but your answer must include the court location, the case number and
the names of the parties. You must provide to the plaintiff a copy of any document that you file with the
court, including your answer.

4. You may bring a claim against the plaintiff if you have one. When you file your answer or written
response with the court, you may also file your “counterclaim” against the plaintiff.

5. You must pay a filing fee to the court when you file your answer. If you cannot afford to pay a filing
fee, you may apply to the court for a fee waiver or deferral, but you must still file your answer on time.

6. You may contact the plaintiff or the plaintiff’s attorney and try to reach an agreement to settle the
lawsuit. However, until an agreement is reached you must still file your answer and participate in the
lawsuit. During the lawsuit, the court may require the parties to discuss settlement.

7. Within forty (40) days after your answer has been filed, you and the plaintiff are required to provide a
disclosure statement to each other. The disclosure statement provides information about witnesses and
exhibits that will be used in the lawsuit. A party may also learn more about the other side’s case through
discovery. Read the Justice Court Rules of Civil Procedure for more information about disclosure
statements and discovery.

8. The court will notify you of all hearing dates and trial dates. You must appear at the time and place
specified in each notice. If you fail to appear at a trial or a hearing, the court may enter a judgment against
you. To assure that you receive these notices, you must keep the court informed, in writing, of your
current address and telephone number until the lawsuit is over.

53



	JP1201-CivilSummonsAndComplaint
	Page 53 from R120006

	PLAINTIFF NameAddressTelephone: 
	Amended: Off
	Replacement: Off
	DEFENDANT NameAddressTelephone: 
	CASE NO: 
	DATE: 
	I AM SUING THE DEFENDANT BECAUSE 1: 
	I AM SUING THE DEFENDANT BECAUSE 2: 
	I AM SUING THE DEFENDANT BECAUSE 3: 
	I AM SUING THE DEFENDANT BECAUSE 4: 
	Date: 
	Plaintiff: Off
	Attorney for Plaintiff: Off
	DATE RECEIVED: 
	DATE SERVED: 
	TIME SERVED: 
	undefined: 
	LOCATION WHERE SERVED 1: 
	LOCATION WHERE SERVED 2: 
	HOW SERVED: 
	PRECINCT: 
	Service Fee: 
	Mileage Fee: 
	Other: 
	TOTAL: 
	Sum: 


