Important Election Dates

A printable version of the following information is available.
 

Primary Election - August 28, 2018


  • Mon, July 30, 2018 - Voter Registration deadline 
  • Wed, August 1, 2018 - Early Voting begins/Early Mail Ballots Start
  • Fri, August 17, 2018 - Last day to request an Early Ballot to be mailed
  • Fri, August 24, 2018 - Last day to Vote Early in person by 5 p.m.

General Election November 6, 2018

  • Tues, October 9, 2018 - Voter registration deadline
  • Wed, October 10, 2018 - Early Voting begins/Early Mail Ballots Start
  • Fri, October 26, 2018 - Last day to request an Early Ballot to be mailed
  • Fri, November 2, 2018 -Last day to Vote Early in person by 5 p.m.

Candidate Nomination Petitions


Partisan


  • Mon, April 30, 2018 - First day to file candidate nomination petitions
  • Wed, May 30, 2018 by 5 p.m. - Last day to file candidate nomination petitions

Non-Partisan

(School, Fire, Community College)
  • Mon, July 9, 2018 - First day to file candidate nomination petitions
  • Wed, August 8, 2018 by 5 p.m. - Last day to file candidate nomination petitions

Nomination Other Than Primary (Independent)


  • Mon, April 30, 2018 - First day to file candidate nomination petitions
  • Wed, May 30, 2018 by 5 p.m. - Last day to file candidate nomination petitions

Write-In Candidates


Primary Election


  • Thu, July 19, 2018 by 5 p.m. - Last day to file as a write-in candidate for the Primary Election

General Election


  • Thu, September 27, 2018 by 5 p.m. - Last day to file as a write-in candidate for the General Election
Note:
EARLY VOTING is a function of the Santa Cruz County Recorder’s Office. To request an early ballot, please contact the Recorder’s office at (520) 375-7990.